Primary Menu

The Hunter Presbytery is a regional council of the Uniting Church in the Synod of NSW and the ACT. It broadly includes the geographic area in New South Wales known as the Hunter region. It could well be said that we are a presbytery “from the Valley to the Sea” (Tasman).

The members of presbytery include ordained Ministers, Pastors and other lay people, representing 35 Congregations within The Hunter Presbytery. Some of these have multiple worship centres, which means there are 53 locations across the presbytery where the Uniting Church meets to worship and engage in ministry and God’s mission.

The role of the presbytery is to “exercise oversight over congregations within its bounds, encouraging them to strengthen one another’s faith, to bear one another’s burdens, and exhorting them to fulfil their high calling in Christ Jesus. The Presbyery will also promote those wider aspects of the work of the Church committed to it by the Synod and Assembly.” This includes individual and corporate actions for positive change in society – a focus of the Uniting Church in Australia.

For the Uniting Church, the true tests of our faith in Jesus Christ are our individual and corporate actions in the world in which we live.

God’s compassion for the world shown by Jesus Christ was not just an ethic for relationships between individuals. It includes social compassion that challenges societal norms, social structures and communal arrangements that are destructive to the physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being of people.

“Accepting diversity, building community, acting compassionately, connecting lives, while supporting Congregations and our other ministries  and encouraging mutually supportive mission that liberates visible communities of courage and hope.”

Worship Locations