The Hunter Presbytery is a regional council of the Uniting Church in the Synod of NSW and the ACT. It broadly includes the geographic area in New South Wales known as the Hunter region. It could well be said that we are a presbytery “from the Valley to the Sea” (Tasman).

The members of presbytery include ordained Ministers, Pastors, and lay people representing 36 Congregations within The Hunter Presbytery. Some of these have multiple worship centres, which means there are 55 locations across the presbytery where the Uniting Church meets to worship and engage in ministry and God’s mission.

The role of the presbytery is to stimulate and encourage congregations within its bounds to strengthen and assist one another and to promote participation in the wider aspects of the church. This includes individual and corporate actions for positive change in society – a focus of the Uniting Church in Australia.

For the Uniting Church, the true tests of our faith in Jesus Christ are our individual and corporate actions in the world in which we live.

God’s compassion for the world shown by Jesus Christ was not just an ethic for relationships between individuals. It includes social compassion that challenges societal norms, social structures and communal arrangements that are destructive to the physical, emotional, and spiritual well-being of people.

“Support congregations and our other ministries  and encourage mutually supportive mission that liberates visible communities of courage and hope.”

Worship Locations